THRiVE Governance
THRiVE has an effective and governance and management structure composed of: Consortium Advisory Board (CAB) and committees that include: Steering (SC); Education and Small Grants (ESGC); PhD/Post-doctoral, Finance (FC); Institutional Implementation (IIC) and Monitoring & Evaluation (MEC). The Consortium Secretariat (CS) based at the lead institution coordinates all consortium activities.

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board meets at least annually and has one member from each of the four THRiVE African consortium countries, one from another African consortium, one from elsewhere in Africa and one from outside Africa. Individuals from the participating institutions cannot be on the Advisory Board. They are selected as persons of high standing and are able to give strategic direction and thinking. The welcome trust is represented by two of its officers who have observer status at the Board meetings which has a quorum of four members. The Chair of the Board is selected by the members.

The Director of the Consortium is secretary to the Board. The Board’s terms of reference are:

To review the progress of the consortium based on the annual report
To advise the consortium on strategic direction
To advise on content and director of scientific programmes and activities
To advise the consortium on funding opportunities.

Advisory Board Members

1 Prof. Wilfred Mbacham University of Cameroon
2 Prof. Buyinza Mukadasi Makerere University
3 Prof. Gibson Kibiki East African Health Research Commission (EAHRC)
4 Prof. Nelson Sewankambo Director THRiVE
5 Prof. Alison Elliot MUII Plus
6 Prof. Hannah Akuffo SIDA
7 Prof. Njeri Wamae Mount Kenya University
8 AESA Representative Kenya, Member

Steering Committee

The steering committee which meets quarterly comprises one member from each of the 9 THRiVE institutions, the consortium director, deputy director and programme coordinator. The chair of the committee is selected by the committee and will hold office for two-year intervals. The committee is responsible for reviewing progress reports from the Executive Directorate and all other THRiVE committees.

It provides administrative and scientific leadership; facilitates communications between the collaborating institutions; oversees financial management and use of funds; decides on the work plan; and plans for future strategic activities and funding.

Committee Members

1. Prof. Nelson k. Sewankambo Director THRiVE Makerere University(chair)
2. Prof. Janet Seeley Co applicant UVRI
3. Dr. John Changalucha Co applicant NIMR, Mwanza
4. Dr. David Mabey Co applicant LSHTM
5. Dr. Dan Masiga Co applicant icipe
6. Dr. David Dunne Co applicant Cambridge University
7. Prof. Emilio Ovuga Co applicant Gulu University

Education & Small Grants

ESGC is responsible for;

The coordination of short courses
The administration of competitive grants for Masters research projects, equipment and pump-priming grants
The administration of applications for funding for mini-sabbaticals. PhD and post-doctoral training is to be overseen by PPTC and not by this committee although the programme coordinator will ensure liaison with the PPTC.

The committee comprises of individuals involved in coordinating the Masters programme at Kilimanjaro Christian Medical College (KCMC) and Makerere University, a staff from London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (LSHTM), the THRiVE programme coordinator and the administrator.


1. Dr. Hugh Reyburn KCMC (chair)
2. Jim Todd, LSHTM
3. Pauline Essiah, Cambridge University
4. Daniel Masiga icipe
5. Jonathan Kayondo UVRI
6. Gerry Mshana NIMR
7. Michael Odida Gulu
8. Manasse Nzayirambaho NUR
9. Charles Ibingira Mak
10. Harriet Nambooze PA
11. Regina Namirembe PA

PhD and Post-doctoral Training Committee (PPTC)

The PhD and Post-Doctoral Training Committee (PPTC) organised the selection of PhD and post-doctoral fellows and has ensured the smooth progress of their training. PPT Comprises of members from each of the partner institutions University, individuals who have a lead role in postgraduate training at the universities in the consortium: Makerere University (the Director or Deputy Director of Graduate Studies), KCMC (Director of postgraduate studies (Prof. Hamel)), Gulu University (Emilio Ovuga), NUR (Prof. J.B. Kakoma), Cambridge (David Dunne) and LSHTM (David Mabey) together with Dr. Saidi Kapiga, Dr. Alison Elliott, the programme coordinator and the programme administrator. The current Chair is Dr. Saidi Kapiga. It overseas the doctoral and post-doctoral training related activities and is to meet quarterly to review progress. The current PhD and Post-doc trainees come appear in THRiVE newsletter 2011, Vol 1 no 1 .The Education and Small Grants Committee (ESGC)

Institutional Implementation Committee (IIC)

The overall function of IIC is to ensure that the institutions meet their obligations under THRiVE and that activities at those institutions are well coordinated. It is responsible for monitoring and evaluation of the site activities and produce a quarterly evaluation and learning report, including technical and financial reporting of activities based on THRiVE requirements. IIC regularly reports to the Institutional head and other stakeholders to keep them updated. IIC provides reports to the THRIVE Director at the secretariat.

About THRiVE


  • 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
  • International Centre of Insect Physiology and Ecology (icipe) Duduville Campus, Nairobi, Kenya
Supervisor Training Workshop
  • 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
  • Kilimanjaro Christian Medical University College in Moshi, Tanzania.
THRiVE-2 Annual General Meeting
Apply for THRiVE MSc and Internship Fellowships 2017